Beginning Of The Slide


The road I thought led to you

wound its way through my curls
spidery veins carrying my hopes
each breath labouring uphill around hairpin kinks

and when I reached out weary hands
you pulled me close
yet kept me apart

Yes, to the very end
you put a distance between us
longer than the bridge my locks built
no Rapunzel tresses
ebony not gold
they clamoured to twist themselves
around your heated fingers
but you stayed cool
impervious to their silken appeal

and now I
abandoned at the crest of my desire
rue the beginning of my slide

© 2017 Uma Venkatraman ~ All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

