All My Daughter’s Shoes


Dash

Her tiny feet once fit in my palm

Then she took her first tottering steps

In her squeaky shoes, she dashed away from me

She splashed her way through muddy puddles

And I had to scrub white school shoes clean

When she begged me for her first pair of heels

I made her promise to run a mile in sneakers

Strapped sandals clung to her prom-going feet

as she sashayed out the door with her date

Now I lay out her ivory satin stilettos

she will walk down the aisle in tomorrow

and wrap the little white booties

I knitted her a lifetime ago

for her daughter to wear one day

©2017 Uma Venkatraman ~ All Rights Reserved

3 thoughts on “All My Daughter’s Shoes

Leave a Reply

