Survival


Survive
The grief sloshes inside
the way a few extra fingers
of whiskey do when I try
to drown the sorrows

When the high evaporates
along with the alcohol
the despair once again
returns to high tide

I would let it all
pour out at your feet
But how can I
shatter your illusions
You, who are oblivious
to the war I wage every day
just to survive

You, who have seen
only the smiles,
and wonder how
it’s all so easy for me

I can’t show you
how tough it is
for the only thing
I don’t wear on my sleeve
is my pain

©2017 Uma Venkatraman ~ All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

