All Good Things Must End


Collaboration

Like the parched earth needs rain
I needed you to shower me with love

show me we inhabit the same space
dream the same dreams we once did

But you are aloof, an eclipsed sun
refusing to drench me in your light

silence your only reply when I seek
reassurance that we are not a lost cause

I want a thunderstorm to clear the air
you are untroubled by the uneasy calm

Finally I realise, like two banks on either side
of a river seething with resentment

there is no way for us to meet
So I fear our collaboration

has run its course, and like all
good things, it’s time to end this too

© 2017 Uma Venkatraman ~ All Rights Reserved

One thought on “All Good Things Must End

Leave a Reply

