The Answer Lies In My Leaving


Pursue
Through a sliver of time
a skein of dark hair

twists itself into a road
leading away from you

You ask why I can’t
stay another day

Bleached of passion, the question
fades into the colourless sky

The answer lies
in my leaving

to wait where the horizon
dissolves into the sea

Pursue the path now lit
by silver tresses

the sheen of starry eyes
bright as a beacon

to guide you back to me
Isn’t that why I set you free

© 2017 Uma Venkatraman ~ All Rights Reserved

One thought on “The Answer Lies In My Leaving

Leave a Reply

