A Letter To My Father


None
Did you see her
when you looked at me?
Perhaps it’s why
you never saw me

I didn’t know then
why the sight of me
brought a frown
to your face
Why you always
turned away
when I smiled at you

It’s not her I look like
It’s you I resemble

Perhaps I reminded you
she gave her life
to give me mine
She took all your love
with her
You had none left
to give me

I know now
it was a losing battle
How could I compete
with a memory?

© 2017 Uma Venkatraman ~ All Rights Reserved

7 thoughts on “A Letter To My Father

  1. Wow. This reminds me so much of my relationship with my father. He has always disliked
    me because of my resemblance to my mom. My parents are divorced so it’s like any memory of her is dispicabe.

  2. I think you should share this with him. Maybe he needs to hear it so he can say it….. I am sure you would love to know more about her…..Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

