Falling In My Mind


Opaque
In my mind
I walk on a ledge
just wide enough
for my narrow feet
I look down
at the sheer drop
a plunge into
opaque depths
that fascinate and repel

I freeze
courage flees
fear is a vise

I’ve come this way
many times
teetered at this spot
stumbled, picked myself up
skated across the precipice
and breathed again

A seasoned performer
on this tightrope
This time I hesitate
The promise of sanity
across the ravine
rings hollow

At the end of the tunnel
is still darkness
The chasm tempts me more
New depths call to me
Go ahead, says my mind
just fall

© 2017 Uma Venkatraman ~ All Rights Reserved

One thought on “Falling In My Mind

Leave a Reply

