The Only Fool


Territory
For all that I wanted 
to say to you
Now is the perfect time
You are, after all, 
not yet in fool’s territory  
I imagine your face 
turning ashen 
when my words 
rise to your eyes 
seeking a way 
into your heart
Perhaps you already know 
but it is easier 
to feign ignorance 
when you can’t accept 
what I have to offer
I imagine your desire 
to cut the tenuous ties 
that hold us loosely in a bond 
without a name —
a little more than friendship
a little less than love
I imagine your relief, then, 
when another note 
wings its way to you 
“Fooled you, didn’t I?”

On April Fools’ Day
the only fool is me

© 2017 Uma Venkatraman ~ All Rights Reserved

3 thoughts on “The Only Fool

Leave a Reply

