Crossroads


Record
I’ve tried
to reach you
in so many ways
but you’ve retreated
into a world
I cannot enter
A world
without words
I can use
to explain myself
A world of silence
that suffocates me

It was not this way
when we first met
When I spoke
you listened
Though you didn’t
say much
I knew
you understood
Though I learned
to listen
you don’t
say anything
I’m tired
of guessing
and my tears
have run dry

We have reached
a fork in our journey
Our life a stuck record
and our roads
now lead
in opposite ways
There’s no point
in lingering here
any longer
All that is left
is to say goodbye

© 2017 Uma Venkatraman ~ All Rights Reserved

One thought on “Crossroads

Leave a Reply

