Too Much Liking


Ruminate
You tell me I like you too much
If that’s a crime then I am guilty
So are you
for setting out to charm me
like a summer breeze flirting with flowers
bending them to its will
before brushing them aside

Perhaps that was your intent, spelt out
in the brush of your hand on my bare arm
and in the come-hither look in your eyes

And I now ruminate, too much
over gestures
words
even silences
wondering if I looked for depths
in shallow waters
meaning in throwaway phrases

Maybe you saw strings
where there were none
feared stirrings of love
where there was only lust

You can run if you wish
I have no desire to chase you
I will just find someone
who doesn’t mind being liked too much

© 2017 Uma Venkatraman ~ All Rights Reserved

2 thoughts on “Too Much Liking

Leave a Reply

