Clouds on my Mind


Doubt
Evening loses its light, robbed by
dark clouds carrying
their burden reluctantly

Their uncertainty
colours my mood
shows up in my hands
mercilessly pounding boiled
potatoes into a pulp

when the recipe called for
slices as thick as the
grey mass above
Anger’s hovering
nebula muddies my mind
I lose the balance
between mince and spuds

The pot overflows
too small to contain
the mess I call a pie
The dripping
egg and milk mixture
from the too-full dish
mixes with the rain
pattering through
the open window

More mess to clean

The skies clear, now the clouds
have dumped their doubt
Perhaps the pie will be perfect

© 2017 Uma Venkatraman ~ All Rights Reserved

3 thoughts on “Clouds on my Mind

Leave a Reply

