When It Rained


images-9-49-24-am

Finding poetry in rain, inspired by the quote above:

Gossamer clung to my skin
drenched by the caress
of a warm summer shower

from a still-blue sky
a colour seemingly stolen
from your eyes

A smile shone on your lips
as you watched me twirl
with a lightness I hadn’t felt

for aeons lifting my spirits
The earth, delighting in my joy,
spun around me

until your touch stilled the air
and there was just you and me
and the rain shielding us from the world

© 2016 Uma Venkatraman ~ All Rights Reserved
Leave a Reply

