Looking For Catharsis


I spit out words
coated with fear
syllables drenched in doubt
The pain exits through
letters laced with regrets

I feel the anger
bubbling out in rhymes
Questions punctuate sentences
spilling tears for all the poems
dragged out of my soul

A multitude of feelings
leech out of a heart
weary of carrying burdens
Now, I think, I will float
on the catharsis of relief

But once I imprint
my ghosts on paper
ready to leave them there
They rise again, to claim me
as their own once more

And it all begins again
as I know it always will

© 2016 Uma Venkatraman ~ All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

