Holding Back


Invitation

Come closer, you say, the invitation in your eyes
mirrored in the spread of your hands

I resist the urge to slide into your heat
even as I turn liquid inside

Your words weave an alluring web around
my parched mind all too willing to be seduced

But my flesh hesitates to join with yours
though it aches to feel your imprint on me

It’s still a step too far
across a line I fear to cross

Perhaps what I really want is for you to drown
my reluctance with the flood of your desire

For I crave to come fully alive
even if it is just for a moment

to save me from feeling
like death for the rest of my days

© 2017 Uma Venkatraman ~ All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

