Heartbreak In Rhyme


The magic 9 is a newer form and relatively unknown. This 9-line poem doesn’t have any rules as far as meter or subject matter – just a rhyme scheme: abacadaba.

I write my heartbreak in rhyme
About those who let me down
Not once or twice but many a time
I always picked up the pieces
Scattered like tarnished dimes
Tried to piece them together
But sorrow stuck to them like grime
Slowly my smile gave way to a frown
As I watched a life wither in its prime

© 2016 Uma Venkatraman ~ All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

