On The Porch


The dark wraps around me
a comforting blanket
warm as the mug
in my hands, the steam
rising from coffee
scented with my dreams

for the day, intruding
into the surrounding hush
a fence keeping out
a yet unknown ache
the hours will bring, percolating

into eyes now staring
gratefully into nothing
before I am forced
to see the colours
of the rising sun
slash the night, taking with it
the peace enveloping
my perch on the porch

until tomorrow

© 2016 Uma Venkatraman ~ All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

