Circus


I hear you’re coming to town
I juggle hope and despair
Though I know the bitter truth
You don’t really care

I go through the hoops
Wondering if we should meet
I walk the tightrope of fear
And I don’t trust my feet

If I can find the courage
Perhaps I’ll play the clown
You won’t see my tears
Blinded by my sparkling gown

My heart turns cartwheels
My pulse twirls and spins
I put on a great performance
All the while, the circus plays within

© 2016 Uma Venkatraman ~ All Rights Reserved

2 thoughts on “Circus

Leave a Reply

