I Love You


I Love You

No tears, you told me
so I dam them
behind smiling eyes
as I hold you a touch too tight
and feel you pull away

No speeches, you said
so I bite back the words
threatening to spill out
hoping my silence will
tell you what I want to say

No theatrics, you warned
so I hide my fears
under a calm demeanour
wishing I could shield you
from all of life’s dangers

But once you are on the plane
and I watch it fly out of sight
I scream, “I love you”
hoping the words
will wing their way
to you

© 2015 Uma Venkatraman ~ All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

