Stormy Days


A drop of rain
sliding down my arm —
your fingers followed
the same trail
twining themselves
around mine
as you pulled me close

Loneliness thunders
under my skin
Though you are still here
I lost you somewhere
along the years
Did you fall back
letting me go on
or did I not notice
that I left you behind

Lightning echoes of laughter
we shared
resound in the silence
The sky sheds tears
dammed up in my eyes
wanting to wash away
the sadness

But some sorrows
flood the soul
etching permanent grooves
which fill each time
melancholy overflows
drowning me once again

© 2015 Uma Venkatraman ~ All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

