My Friend


We’ve shared fun times
you and I
giggled over boys
cried over them
celebrated the present
anticipated the future

We grew up, not apart
You still sense my despair
across the ocean
my silence still speaks to you
You know when I need
a shoulder to cry on
You reach out and pull me
out of the shell of grief
You bear the burden
of my woes lightly

To you, my troubles
are not trivial
my dilemma
is not delusion
You are the mirror
in which I see
hidden facets
of myself

To have you in my life
is a privilege so rare
I thank the heavens
for creating the day
I met you, my friend

Leave a Reply

