Resorting to Clichés


Relieved
You don’t love me anymore, I say

The bald truth may work
when hints and nudges don’t

No, I don’t

Your reply freezes
in the cold silence
Then you smile
as if it was said in jest

But your unsmiling eyes
give you away

It’s not a surprise
I have seen you
slowly change
grow distant

A wave of release
washes over me
your words
dissipate the guilt
I have carried so long

Relieved, I can now admit
what I have tried to deny
Flip the words I said to you

I don’t love you anymore

And when I say it out loud
I won’t smile

© 2017 Uma Venkatraman ~ All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

